Month: July 2016

Big Rivers Signs 10-Year Power Supply Contract With KyMEA

Big Rivers Electric Corporation is proud to announce the finalization of a ten-year power supply contract with the Kentucky Municipal Energy Agency (KyMEA). Under the agreement authorized on July 13th, Big Rivers will provide between 75 and 100 megawatts (MW) beginning in June of 2019. The supply could also be expanded by up to 50 MW later in the contract term.

KyMEA is an Inter-local Cooperation Agency formed in June of 2015 to develop a power supply portfolio to serve the city-owned utilities in Kentucky that terminated their long-term power supply arrangement with Kentucky Utilities Company, as well as other Kentucky municipally-owned electric utilities.

Members of the KyMEA include the cities of Barbourville, Bardwell, Benham, Corbin, Falmouth, Frankfort, Madisonville, Paris, Providence and Owensboro.  Owensboro Municipal Utilities will not initially be an all-requirements participant of the KyMEA and will not be a recipient of any of the capacity and energy provided under the Big Rivers contract.

In addition to the agreements with Big Rivers, the KyMEA entered into power supply contracts with the Illinois Power Marketing Company, a subsidiary of Dynegy, and the Electric Plant Board of the City of Paducah.

“This agreement is a very positive development for Big Rivers, its Member-Owner cooperatives and the KyMEA,” said Big Rivers President and CEO Bob Berry. “It is one more step in the successful execution of a 2013 plan to locate long-term buyers for surplus power and reinforces the commitment of Big Rivers to the Action Plan that was established by the Kentucky Public Service Commission (KPSC) last year. The low costs and high reliability of our generating fleet made us very competitive in the evaluation of proposals received in response to KyMEA’s RFP solicitation for its power supply needs. A contract like this also ensures the best rates for members served by Kenergy, Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation and Meade County RECC.”

The Big Rivers agreement with the KyMEA will be subject to approval by the KPSC and the Rural Utilities Service.

Big Rivers Electric Corporation is an electric generation and transmission cooperative headquartered in Henderson, Kentucky and owned by three distribution cooperative members—Jackson Purchase Energy Corporation, headquartered in Paducah; Kenergy Corp, headquartered in Henderson; and Meade County Rural Electric Cooperative Corporation, headquartered in Brandenburg. These member cooperatives deliver retail electric power and energy to more than 115,000 residential, commercial, and industrial customers in portions of 22 western Kentucky counties.

Jennifer Keach, Director Communications and Community Relations, sends e-mail), (270) 844-6153
Stephanie McCombs, Communications Specialist,, (link sends e-mail)(270) 844-6116

East Kentucky Power Cooperative Seeks Approval For Solar Project

East Kentucky Power Cooperative (EKPC) today filed a request with the Kentucky Public Service Commission (PSC) to construct an 8.5-megawatt solar project in Clark County, Ky.

If approved, the cooperative solar installation will be located next to EKPC’s headquarters facilities, adjacent to Interstate 64 and U.S. 60, about two miles east of Fayette County. With more than 32,000 photovoltaic panels covering 60 acres of land, the installation would be one of Kentucky’s largest solar farms.

“This project fits well with EKPC’s strategic goal to diversify our generation portfolio while addressing the desire among some co – op members for renewable alternatives and also providing a valuable carbon-free source of energy,” said Anthony “Tony” Camp bell, EKPC’s President & CEO.

The project is proposed as a cooperative solar arrangement, whereby retail members of participating electric distribution cooperatives can purchase a license for a portion of the solar project’s gene rating capacity. Then, the y would receive credits on their monthly electric bill for the value of the energy from their proportional licensed share. Licenses will be valid for 25 years.

“Retail members of our owner-member co-ops will be able to voluntarily participate in a renewable energy program that is competitive with rooftop solar ,” said David Crews, Sr. Vice President of Power Supply.

The cooperative solar arrangement also provide s an opportunity to participate in renewable generation for co-op members whose premises are not conducive to solar panels, such as apartments or heavily shaded areas. Participants also will benefit from the project’s economies of scale.

In 2013, a collaborative group of stakeholders focusing on renewable and demand-side management issues recommended EKPC establish a solar project with participation of retail members.

Meanwhile, the federal Clean Power Plan, which is being challenged in court, mandates dramatic reduction in carbon dioxide emissions from electric utilities.

The estimated cost of the solar installation is $17.7 million. EKPC plans to finance the project by issuing New Clean Renewable Energy Bonds to take advantage of federal incentives that can offset much of the interest expense.

For more information visit EKPC at
East Kentucky Power Cooperative, Winchester, is a not-for-profit, member-owned cooperative providing wholesale electricity to 16 owner-member distribution cooperatives that serve 530,000 Kentucky homes, farms, businesses and industries across 87 counties. EKPC provides power through coal-fueled plants located in Mason and Pulaski counties; natural gas-fueled peaking units in Clark and Oldham counties; renewable energy plants in Barren, Boone, Laurel, Greenup, Hardin and Pendleton counties; and nearly 2,800 miles of transmission lines. Together, EKPC and its 16 owner-member cooperatives are known as Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives.

Wright Named To State Education Council

Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin has appointed Jackson Energy President & CEO Carol Wright to serve on the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education.

The 16-member board coordinates postsecondary and adult education in the state.

The council is composed of 13 citizen members, one student and one faculty member, all appointed by the governor. The additional member, the commissioner of the Kentucky Department of Education, serves as a non-voting member.

Wright has been appointed for a term expiring in December 2021. She has served as president and chief executive officer of Jackson Energy Cooperative since 2013, and has more than 26 years of experience in the electric utility industry.

Wright is a graduate of the University of Kentucky where she earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering. She also earned a master’s degree in business administration from Sullivan University.

Wright served on the committee to establish the Lineman’s Training Program at Somerset Community College and also served as chairman of the Lineman Training Program board.

“I am honored to be selected to serve on the Council,” Wright said, “and look forward to working to improve educational opportunities in Kentucky.”