Co-Op Leaders Recognized For Commitment To Local Programs

Community leaders from across Kentucky were recognized for their work within the electric cooperative community by the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives, Inc. at its annual meeting in Louisville on November 17, 2015.

Co-op managers, directors, and attorneys new to local distribution co-op boards received both recognition and training at the statewide gathering of co-op leaders.  Working together, these individuals will assist in keeping the lights on for 1.7 million Kentuckians in the rural areas of the state.

Also recognized at the KAEC annual meeting was a group of seasoned co-op managers, directors, and attorneys. Many leaders were recognized for twenty years of service and more. Jody Hughes and Howard Downing were recognized for a respective 40 and 50 years of service to Nicholasville-based Blue Grass Energy.

“Kentucky’s electric cooperatives have such a storied program with over 75 years of history,” said Chris Perry, President and CEO of the statewide association. “Today we have the opportunity to both usher in a new generation of co-op leaders, but also recognize the pillars within our program. Many of these men and women have helped make decisions that have ensured safe, reliable, and affordable electricity for many years.”

Photos of those that received service awards can be viewed in this KAEC photo gallery.